Publication Date



Background: Hip fractures cause increased mortality and disability and consume enormous healthcare resources. Only 46% of hip fracture patients have osteoporosis at the total hip according to dual‐energy X‐ray absorptiometry (DXA) measurement. Cortical porosity increases with ageing and is believed to be important for bone strength. Objective: To investigate whether older women with hip fracture have higher cortical porosity than controls, and if so whether this difference is independent of clinical risk factors and areal bone mineral density (aBMD). Methods: From an ongoing population‐based study, we identified 46 women with a prevalent X‐ray‐verified hip fracture and 361 control subjects without any fractures. aBMD was measured with DXA. High‐resolution peripheral quantitative computed tomography was used to measure bone microstructure at the standard (ultradistal) site and at 14% (distal) of the tibial length. Results: Women with a previous hip fracture had lower aBMD at the femoral neck (−11.8%) and total hip (−14.6%) as well as higher cortical porosity at the ultradistal (32.1%) and distal (29.3%) tibia compared with controls. In multivariable logistic regression analysis, with adjustment for covariates (age, height, weight, smoking, calcium intake, physical activity, walk time, oral glucocorticoids, parental hip fracture, rheumatoid arthritis, previous fall, current bisphosphonate treatment and femoral neck aBMD), cortical porosity at the ultradistal [odds ratio per standard deviation increase (95% confidence interval) 2.61 (1.77–3.85)] and distal [1.57 (1.12–2.20)] sites was associated with prevalent hip fracture. Conclusion: Cortical porosity was associated with prevalent hip fracture in older women independently of femoral neck aBMD and clinical risk factors.


Mary MacKillop Institute for Health Research

Document Type

Open Access Journal Article

Access Rights

Open Access

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License